Partners

DSCF3025COLOR

Matthieu de Varax

Matthieu is the founder and managing partner of Odi-sé Avocats. He has more than 25 years of experience of advising lenders, lessors, manufacturers and airlines on all legal aspects of aircraft operation, maintenance, finance and leasing. He is a recognized expert in business aviation, having acted on the purchase, disposal, financing and operation of all types of business jets in a great variety of jurisdictions across the globe.

In addition, Matthieu has developed a niche practice in the outsourcing of aircraft and aviation related services by State authorities. He drafted the first public-private partnership contract ever awarded by the French State, in relation to the provision of helicopter flight hours to the French light aviation training centre at Dax. He has since advised sponsors and lenders on most of the defense PPP contract tenders issued by the French MoD.

Matthieu is a member of the Legal and European Affairs Sub-Committee of the Associated Member Advisory Council of the European Business Aviation Association.

Matthieu de Varax is ranked in Band 2 by Chambers and Partners and in Band 3 by Legal 500 among leading aviation finance lawyers for France.

Thomas Boone

Thomas is a partner of Odi-sé Avocats with a wealth of experience in structured finance, debt restructurings and work-outs, acquired in both top ranking international law firms and major financial institutions. This dual practice provides Thomas with a deep understanding of clients' needs and expectations in complex cross-border financing transactions.

Thomas advises the firm’s international and domestic clients on all legal aspects of the purchase, disposal, leasing and financing of aircraft.

Having held expert and senior positions in the legal department of global banking institutions and in law firms, Thomas covers the full spectrum of legal issues surrounding the financing and leasing of large assets, from the structuring of transactions to work outs and default situations, including repossession and insolvency.

Thomas speaks French and English and is a member of the Paris bar.

IMG_0063

Associés

DSCF3025COLOR

Matthieu de Varax

Matthieu est le fondateur et le président du cabinet Odi-sé Avocats. Il conseille depuis plus de 25 ans des prêteurs, des loueurs d’avions, des constructeurs et des compagnies aériennes sur tous les aspects juridiques de l’exploitation, de la maintenance, du financement et de la location d’aéronefs.  Praticien reconnu du secteur de l’aviation d’affaires européenne, il est intervenu sur l’achat, la vente, le financement et l’exploitation de tous types d’avions d’affaires dans un très grand nombre de pays à travers le monde.

Par ailleurs, Matthieu a développé une spécialité dans l’externalisation de moyens aériens et de services liés à l’aéronautique au sein des ministères de l’intérieur et de la défense.  A ce titre, il a rédigé le premier contrat de partenariat attribué par l’Etat, pour la fourniture d’heures de vol sans équipage à la base école de l’aviation légère de l’armée de terre à Dax.  Il a depuis conseillé des industriels et des prêteurs sur la plupart des PPPs liés à la défense en France.

Matthieu est membre du Sous-Comité des Affaires Juridiques et Européennes de l’Association Européenne de l’Aviation d’Affaires.

Matthieu de Varax est recommandé par Chambers and Partners et Legal 500 pour le financement d’avions en France.

Thomas Boone

Thomas est associé du cabinet Odi-sé Avocats. Il a une longue expérience en financements structurés, restructurations de dettes et prévention et traitement des difficultés des entreprises, acquise tant dans des cabinets d’avocats internationaux de premier plan qu’au sein d’établissements financiers majeurs. Cette double pratique permet à Thomas d’avoir une parfaite compréhension des besoins et attentes des clients du cabinet dans leurs opérations de financements transfrontaliers.

Thomas conseille les clients internationaux et français du cabinet sur tous les aspects juridiques relatifs à l’acquisition, l’exploitation, la location et le financement d’aéronefs.

Ayant occupé des postes d’expert et à responsabilités au sein de directions juridiques de banques de financements et d’investissements et dans des cabinets d’avocats, Thomas couvre le périmètre complet des problématiques juridiques entourant les financements et la location d’ actifs, de l’origination des opérations à leur restructuration et aux situations de défauts, incluant les cas de repossession et d’insolvabilité.

Thomas parle français et anglais et est inscrit au barreau de Paris.

IMG_0063